top of page
Doug

A Thousand Lives

Knowing where and when you are

Trapped in my own timeline.

No past or future.

Thinking about you in the now…

And forever.

I’ve imagined a thousand lives together.

Each with a rude awakening and bitter taste,

As the sweet scent of you vanishes.

The incompetence I feel as the mirage of you slips away,

Back into the deepness of my subconscious.

For there is where I hide you, where I seek refuge when I feel like a lily pad on water in the middle of a storm.

The sum of words from every spoken language across the ages is not enough to compose into sound vibrations what you make me feel.

I do not understand the why nor the how behind your incredible act,

But I remain dazed and awed in how defenseless I feel to your every movement through this fabric of time and space.

I may die and be reborn a million times and I am sure I may never feel the same.

To die and be reborn, never feel the same.

Perhaps that is what it takes…

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Forget the Absolutes

Cloudy days have become days that I devote to you. Long gone are the days when I seek the sun and the blue skies. Pareidolia has become...

Morning Sun

I saw the morning sun and thought of you. Not because it reminds me of your beauty, I could never forget that. I thought of you because...

Supernova II

I feel this heavy weight in my heart. It begins to pull everything within me, and it begins to collapse on itself. Like a supernova....

Comments


bottom of page